Bangladesh Listed as ‘Friend and Neutral’ by Russia

Bangladesh Listed as 'Friend and Neutral' by Russia My News Bangladesh

Bangladesh has been included in Russia’s list of ‘Friend and Neutral’ countries. Russia has revealed the names of more than 30 countries including Bangladesh. Banks and broker houses of the countries in that list will be able to transact in roubles.

The Russian Embassy in Dhaka made a post on Facebook on Saturday (August 23).The countries that are included in the list of Friend and Neutral countries of Russia are – Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bangladesh, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Brazil, China, Cuba, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Iran, Qatar, Malaysia, Mongolia, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela and Vietnam.

Russia Designates ‘Friend and Neutral’ Countries Amid Economic Pressures

Earlier, Russia excluded five countries and territories from the draft list. These are Argentina, Hong Kong, Israel, Mexico and Moldova.Russia’s economy has also been under pressure since the attack on Ukraine, with the country’s currency, the ruble, weakening. To get rid of this situation, Russia is insisting on international currency transactions.

More than 90 percent of Bangladesh’s foreign transactions are in US dollars. In addition, there are limited transactions in Euros, Pounds, Australian Dollars, Chinese Yuan and Canadian Dollars. Recently trade in taka-rupee has started with India under special arrangement. Transactions may be made in Russian Rubles subject to government approval.

Back To Top