EC explains why 10 political parties not given registrations

The Election Commission (EC) has sent letters to 10 political parties including Gono Odhikar Parishad, AB Party, and Nagorik Oikya, explaining the reasons for not giving them registration.

Abdul Baten, joint secretary of EC’s election management branch gave the information yesterday.

Of the 12 parties that survived the preliminary selection, 10 were excluded due to lack of accuracy of their upazila committees. But their central and district committees were okay, he said.

Several objections have been filed against two parties on the list. There will now be a hearing. In this case, if the allegation is proved at the hearing, they will not get registration, he said.

When the Election Commission invited applications for parties to get registered, 93 parties applied.

Of these, 12 survived the preliminary selection. The parties are Bangladesh Gonotrantik Andolon (BNM), AB Party (Amar Bangladesh Party), Bangladesh Humanist Party (BHP), Gono Odhikar Parishad, Nagorik Oikya, Bangladesh Sanatan Party (BSP), Bangladesh Supreme Party (BSP), Bangladesh Labour Party, Bangladesh Minority Janata Party (BMJP), Bangladesh People’s Party (BPP), Democratic Party and Bangladesh Liberal Democratic Party (BLDP).

Of these 12 parties, eight were excluded after further investigation. The EC formed four investigation committees to register Gono Odhikar Parishad, Bangladesh Supreme Party (BSP), Bangladesh Gonotantrik Andolan (BNM) and AB Party. After the committee re-examined and submitted its report, it decided to register BNM and BSP parties. In this case, the EC also issued a public notice inviting objections to the two parties by July 26.

Back To Top